Thursday, November 11, 2010

The Decemberists "King Is Dead" Cover Art + Details, Playing Conan

The Decemberists will be releasing their new album, The King Is Dead, on January 18, 2011, via Capitol Records.

According to the official press release, the band was influenced more by Americana than by "English traditions" that were clearly guiding the songwriting of the band's catalog thus far. Colin Meloy, the group's vocalist and chief songwriter, describes the new album as an "exercise in restraint". Following the band's last album, The Hazards of Love, this should be a very interesting, and exciting departure.

The King is Dead features guest guitarist, Peter Buck of R.E.M., playing on three songs, and the always excellent Gillian Welch contributing to seven! As noted previously, you can download the free track, "Down By The Water" (which features Ms. Welch), on the band's website. The LP will be available for pre-orders Novemeber 22nd.

Here's the complete tracklist for The King Is Dead:

Don't Carry It All / Calamity Song / Rise To Me / Rox In The Box / January Hymn / Down By The Water / All Arise! / June Hymn / This Is Why We Fight / Dear Avery

Lastly, The Decemberists will be appearing on "Conan" Novemeber 18th.

No comments:

Post a Comment