Monday, November 8, 2010

Rebel Records Reissues Classic LPs by Del McCoury & The Country Gentlemen

On November 23rd, Rebel Records will be reissuing two classic Bluegrass albums by The Country Gentlemen and Del McCoury.

The Country Gentlemen's
The Young Fisherwoman features the classic lineup of Charlie Waller on guitar, John Duffey on mandolin, Eddie Adcock on banjo, and Tom Gray on bass. The Young Fisherwoman and Bringing Mary Home, are the only two albums Rebel Records issued that featured this stellar lineup. One of the things that makes this reissue so special is that the song "The Young Fisherwoman" has never been re-released since the LP went out of print, about 30 years ago. The album was originally released in 1970, but the recordings date back from the early 1960s.

Del McCoury's 1975 self-titled LP, simply, Del McCoury, was the first of his four Rebel Records recordings. The album includes "Rain and Snow", and two Ola Belle Reed tunes: "Springtime of Life" and "I've Endured". The Del McCoury album features his original band The Dixie Pals, which includes Bill Runkle on banjo, Donnie Eldreth on mandolin, Bill Poffinberger on fiddle, and Dewey Renfro on bass.

No comments:

Post a Comment